Appendices:0



Item No. 12

COUNCIL 22 MAY 2008

Agenda Status: Public Directorate: Chief Executive

Report Title	Appointments to Committees

1. Summary

To seek approval to the detailed appointments to Committees for 2008/09

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the appointments to Committees set out in the report be accepted.
- 2.2 That powers be delegated to the Standards Committee to confirm the appointments to the vacant seats on the Committee and to confirm the deputy chair from one of the independent members

3. Report Background

Following on from the earlier report to this meeting on Proportionality (item 11), set out below are the proposed appointments to Committees made by the political groups.

Following the changes to the Constitution accepted by Council on 12 May 2008 it is necessary to appoint five members to the Tree Panel.

Further, there are currently two independent member vacancies on Standards Committee. Interviews have been held for these vacancies and it is proposed that delegated powers be given to the Standards Committee itself to confirm the appointments to the vacancies following Officer notification of the successful candidates. Delegated powers are also being sought for the Standards Committee itself to appoint a deputy chair who will be chosen from one of the independent candidates.

Overview & Scrutiny Management Committee (6 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor J Conroy (Deputy Chair), Councillors Choudary, Lane, Malpas and P M Varnsverry

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 1: Partnerships, Regeneration and Community Safety and Engagement (10 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor Choudary (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Caswell, S Chaudhury, Clarke, Palethorpe, Perkins, Reeve, P D Varnsverry and Wilson

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 2: Housing and Environment (9 members)

Councillor Malpas (Chair), Councillor P M Varnsverry (Deputy-Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Garlick, Larratt, J Lill, Meredith, Scott and Yates

Overview & Scrutiny 3: Improvement, Performance & Finance (9 members)

Councillor Lane (Chair), Councillor J Conroy (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Collins, Davies, Hadland, Meredith, Reeve, Taylor and Yates

Appointments and Appeals Committee (7 members)

Councillor Woods (Chair), Councillor Glynane (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Beardsworth, Davies, Hadland, I Markham and Palethorpe

Audit Committee (7 members)

Councillor Perkins (Chair), Councillor Yates (Deputy-Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Davies, Hawkins, J Lill and Tavener

General Purposes Committee (9 members)

Councillor Collins (Chair), Councillor Garlick (Deputy-Chair), Councillors S Chaudhury, Clarke Davies, Duncan, Edwards, Matthews and I Markham

Licensing Committee (11 members)

Councillor Taylor (Chair), Councillor Wilson (Deputy-Chair), Caswell, I Choudary, R Conroy, Duncan, C Lill, I Markham, Matthews, Tavener and P M Varnsverry

Planning Committee (11 members)

Councillor Hollis (Chair), Councillor P D Varnsverry (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Church, Collins, J Conroy, Hill, M Hoare, Lane, Malpas, Mason and Meredith

Standards Committee (9 members)

Mr Ian Harley (Independent Chair), D Hughes, M Edwards (Parish Council representatives), Councillors Capstick, Flavell, Hawkins and Matthews, [Independent – vacant] [independent – vacant]

Tree Panel (5 members)

Councillor Matthews (Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Davies, Hadland and Larratt

4. Implications (including financial implications)

4.1 Resources and Risk

None specifically.

h

4.2 Legal

The Council has a legal requirement to formally appoint members to Committees to enable it to operate lawfully.

4.3 Other Implications

None

5. Background Papers

Members Services – Departmental file

Report Author and Title: Frazer McGown – Meeting Services Team Leader

Telephone and Email: 837101 – fmcgown@northampton.gov.uk